Aspects and Elements

Phyllis Lei Furumoto, our fourth Grand Master was given the Reiki Aspects and Elements in meditation to further identify and define this particular spiritual lineage form and system that she teaches. The philosophy and understanding of the system is expressed by the Four Aspects of Usui Shiki Ryoho. The form of the practice is held in the Nine Elements of Usui Shiki Ryoho. Together they define the Reiki Natural Healing system that masters and students practice under the lineage of Mikao Usui, Chujiro Hayashi, Hawayo Takata, and Phyllis Lei Furumoto as Usui Shiki Ryoho.


4 Aspects

These aspects describe the path of a student and the development of the system itself. This path and this development are not made by human decision but by the natural process of maturation. The human decision is to commit to this practice and follow one's own path.

Healing Practice

The basic practice of Usui Shiki Ryoho is self-treatment, the placement of the student’s hands on their own body, giving Reiki for healing, comfort, and well-being. A Reiki student can also treat others and everything in his/her surrounding environment. A healing practice can also take another step into the formal offering of Reiki treatments.

Personal Development

The practice of Reiki touches and nourishes the core of being and encourages the student along the path of human unfolding. It can begin with something as simple as becoming more sensitive to what the body needs nutritionally and progress through uncovering and healing repressed emotional trauma, awakening to personal innate gifts, deepening the capacity for nourishing relationship, or finding and developing work that is the truest expression of the student’s authentic self.

Spiritual Discipline

This aspect of the practice addresses the process of spiritual growth and development. Beyond the questions of individual healing, gifts and self-expression is the question of our meaning and purpose as human beings. What ultimately brings happiness and fulfillment? These are the questions addressed by all the world’s religions, philosophies, and spiritual traditions. The practice of Usui Shiki Ryoho allows the student to have experiences of spirit that guide each to his/her own spiritual understanding.

Mystic Order

A group of people who share a common practice that brings them in relation to reality beyond the realm of the five senses is considered a mystic order. Though the practice of Reiki employs the sense of touch, the quality of that touch can take us into the realm of union and communion with self, others, and the essence of life. Students experience directly through practice the interconnectedness of being and awaken to the experience of a much greater reality beyond what is known.

9 Elements

Each of the nine elements contains information, the way to hold this information, and the use of the information which transforms information into sacred tools.

The Elements are equal in importance and have a relationship with each other. This dynamic relationship propels the student into learning experiences, guides the student into his/her next step of development, and keeps the student free to experience Reiki in all levels of consciousness.


Form of Teaching

The class form for teaching this system is simple, direct, concise and comprehensive for ease of learning and the integration of the practice into daily life. A master teaches a first degree & second degree class supporting the student in being able to experience their individual path in the practice.


The story of the origin and development of this practice through time as held, carried, and cared for by the spiritual lineage of Mikao Usui, Chujiro Hayashi, Hawayo Takata, and Phyllis Lei Furumoto. The story traces the development of the practice through lifetime of each lineage bearer.


The initiation can be described as a simple “sacred ceremonial act”. When the student and master experience communion with the energy of Reiki in becoming one with all that is. Holding this sacred ritual in its rightful place is an obligation of Mastery. The other eight elements of the system allow the experience of the initiations to be used in daily life, expanding the awareness of the student.

Oral Tradition

This practice is taught and passed on in the form of oral tradition, to the student by a Reiki Master that are together for the class experience. There is a unique quality to this meeting that only can happen in person-to-person contact where ritual or sacred space is created. Through the medium of story, demonstration, initiation, sharing, and responding to questions, the essence of the practice is communicated.


While treatments and initiations flow into the body, the spiritual precepts flow into the mind. The precepts are not so much rules of living, but a way to stimulate the question of how we live. The precepts stimulate this questioning, and give us impetus to grow in our natural evolution. Treatments and precepts together honor who I am and what serves me, and remind us of how we could possibly be.

Spiritual Lineage

The lineage of Usui Shiki Ryoho is Mikao Usui, Chujiro Hayashi, Hawayo Takata, and Phyllis Lei Furumoto. The oral traditions and sacred initiation rituals of this system of practice as we know it today has been transmitted and held through these four lineage bearers and their time/space in the world as we know it. The practitioners of Reiki hold this lineage with respect.


A part of the path and a part of the form. Balance of giving and receiving is a sacred act. This element bridges the material and non-material step that offers healing for humanity through the power and energy of money. The practice of Reiki calls for learning Reiki in each degree and for receiving Reiki treatments. This is a means for the student to find their practice to widen the scope of understanding regarding the energy of money and the energetic transmission that occurs when money is exchanged. Fees set are in US currency or equivalent and the exchange for treatment or training is the expression of this element of the form for the practitioner.


There are four symbols in this practice that are keys or doorways to another level of relationship with the energy of Reiki. A Second Degree student is asked for further commitment of time and attention to the practice. Three of the four symbols have specific functions and form of use in the Second Degree student’s daily practice. The fourth is for Reiki Masters and used for the soul purpose of initiations. These symbols are held sacredly and privately by Second Degree Reiki practitioners and Reiki Masters.


The form of treatment is simple while comprehensive. The hand positions offered in the First Degree class create a pattern on the body that allows for the person receiving as well as the person giving the treatment awareness of the energy movement in the body. The basis of the practice is self-treatment and treatments for others including animals. Reiki treatments are not used for diagnostic purposes nor have expectations about the outcome of the treatment. Reiki always works, sometimes on unseen levels of the being.